9 seek councillor seats in Zeballos, mayor acclaimed

9 seek councillor seats in Zeballos, mayor acclaimed
Tourism Zeballos/Facebook

There are nine people running to be councillors in Zeballos, while the mayor has been acclaimed.

Julie Colborne is one of 11 mayors who were acclaimed to their roles on Vancouver Island.

Advance voting in Zeballos will take place on Oct. 5, 7, 11, 12, 13, and 14 at the Zeballos Village Office from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. On general voting day on Oct. 15 it will be at the same location from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

School trustees in the Vancouver Island West School District will also be up for election in Zeballos.

There are four councillor positions to be elected.

Incumbents Justin Janisse, Barb Lewis, and Ernie Smith are seeking to be re-elected and Ronald Deck, Jennifer John, Simon John, Stacey Miller, Adrian O’Connor, and Angela Vincent are seeking to be elected.

In 2018, the mayor and councillors were acclaimed in Zeballos.

In 2014, 89 people voted for a turnout of 84.8 per cent.

Laura BroughamLaura Brougham

Recent Stories

Send us your news tips and videos!