7 councillor, 2 mayor candidates seeking election in Lantzville

7 councillor, 2 mayor candidates seeking election in Lantzville
Photo credit: Nicholas Pescod/CHEK News

In Lantzville, there are two people running for mayor and seven for councillor positions in the upcoming elections.

The current mayor and one councillor are seeking re-election, while three current councillors are not.

In addition to voting for mayor and councillor, Lantzville voters will be casting a vote for school trustees in the Nanaimo-Ladysmith School District or in Area E of the Qualicum School District.

There will be two advance voting days on Oct. 5 and 12 in addition to general voting day on Oct. 15. Voting on all three days will take place at Costin Hall from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Additionally, voters can request to vote by mail.

Running for mayor are Stan Pottie and the incumbent mayor, Mark Swain.

There are four councillor seats up for election.

Ian Savage is the only incumbent councillor seeking re-election.

John Dunn, Joan Jones, Jonathan Lerner, Shandra Mayes, Rachelle Mundell, and Karl Wiese are seeking to be elected to council.

In 2018, 1,437 people voted in Lantzville for a voter turnout of 51.8 per cent.

Laura BroughamLaura Brougham

Recent Stories

Send us your news tips and videos!