B.C. Premier to swear in new NDP cabinet Thursday afternoon

B.C. Premier to swear in new NDP cabinet Thursday afternoon
File photo.
John Horgan will introduce his new cabinet Thursday

Premier John Horgan is set to introduce his new cabinet Thursday afternoon, following the NDP’s landslide majority government win in last month’s provincial election.

The NDP won 57 of the 87 seats in B.C.’s Legislature, and several new and existing NDP MLAs are expected to take on new roles in the cabinet.

Including Horgan himself, the party previously held 23 cabinet members. This year, seven members have stepped down, creating room for many new faces in numerous major ministries.

Many are keeping a close eye on who will become B.C.’s new finance minister, after longtime MLA Carole James did not seek election this year, due to her diagnosis of Parkinson’s disease.

The position of Minister of Transportation is also now available after the North Island’s Claire Trevena also stepped down this year, saying it was time to move on.

Judy D’Arcy, New Westminister’s previous NDP MLA, did not seek re-election, opening up the position of minister of mental health and addictions.

While Horgan has many positions to fill, he said this was a good problem to have, previously describing his selection of new ministers as “an embarrassment of riches.”

The NDP has 21 new MLAs, but so far, Horgan hasn’t given any hints as to who will be sworn in.

The cabinet swearing-in ceremony is set to start at 2 pm, broadcast live from the legislature. Horgan will then address the media at 3:15 pm.

READ MORE: John Horgan’s pandemic election gamble pays off for B.C. NDP

Rebecca LawrenceRebecca Lawrence

Recent Stories

Send us your news tips and videos!