BC NDP Rob Fleming re-elected as MLA in Victoria-Swan Lake

BC NDP Rob Fleming re-elected as MLA in Victoria-Swan Lake
Province of BC
Rob Fleming speaks to media in a file photo.

Rob Fleming of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Victoria-Swan Lake, keeping the seat for the party. Fleming won 1,591 out of 3,073 counted votes (51.77 per cent) with 37 of 113 polls reporting.

Annemieke Holthuis of the Green party won 1,000 votes (32.54 per cent). David Somerville of the BC Liberal Party won 419 votes (13.63 per cent). Jenn Smith, an Independent, won 41 votes (1.33 per cent). Walt Parsons of the Communist Party of BC won 22 votes (0.72 per cent).

As of 9:27 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 54 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 30, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 12,978 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 37,949 registered voters in Victoria-Swan Lake.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 9:27 p.m.:

1. Rob Fleming (incumbent) – NDP

Votes: 1,591 votes (51.77 per cent)

2. Annemieke Holthuis – Green party

Votes: 1,000 votes (32.54 per cent)

3. David Somerville – BC Liberal Party

Votes: 419 votes (13.63 per cent)

4. Jenn Smith – Independent

Votes: 41 votes (1.33 per cent)

5. Walt Parsons – Communist Party of BC

Votes: 22 votes (0.72 per cent)

See the B.C. election results here.

The Canadian PressThe Canadian Press

Recent Stories

Send us your news tips and videos!