Murray Rankin has announced he won't seek reelection in October. (Mathieu Thériault/CBC)

Murray Rankin has announced he won’t seek reelection in October. (Mathieu Thériault/CBC)

The NDP will choose a new candidate for the federal riding of Victoria on April 17th.

The date was announced in a statement late Wednesday evening.

It states that all NDP members in good standing as of March 18th and who reside in the Victoria federal electoral district are eligible to vote at the meeting.

The deadline for nomination candidates to submit their application packages is Wednesday, March 27th at 2 p.m. PST.

The winner will succeed current MP Murray Rankin, who announced on February 28th that he would not be running in this October’s federal election.

Rankin was first elected in a by-election in 2012, succeeding NDP MP Denise Savoie who had served since 2006.

So far the only person to confirm they will seek the nomination is Laurel Collins.

The first-term Victoria city councillor announced her candidacy on March 6th.

A time and place for the nomination meeting will be announced in the coming days.

The Liberals and Conservatives have yet to announce when their nomination meetings will be held.

Racelle Kooy will be running for the Green Party.

Ben O'Hara