Two Victoria Grizzlies players win league awards


The 2019 BCHL award winners are:

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy – Most Valuable Player
Alex Newhook – forward – Victoria Grizzlies

Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy – Rookie of the Year
Alexander Campbell – forward – Victoria Grizzlies

Top Defenceman
James Miller – Penticton Vees

Top Goaltender
Jack LaFontaine – Penticton Vees

Bob Fenton Trophy – Most Sportsmanlike Player
Mike Hardman – forward – West Kelowna Warriors

Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy – Coach of the Year
Joe Martin – Merritt Centennials

The non-voting awards this season are as follows:

Brett Hull Trophy – Top Scorer
Alex Newhook – Victoria Grizzlies – 38 goals, 64 assists, 102 points

Wally Forslund Trophy – Top Goalie Tandem (lowest combined goals-against average)
Jack LaFontaine and Derek Krall – Penticton Vees – combine 2.33 GAA

Ron Boileau Memorial Trophy – Regular-season champion
Chilliwack Chiefs – 42-15-1 – 85 points

Jeff KingJeff King

Recent Stories

Send us your news tips and videos!