Premier John Horgan appoints new chairs for B.C. Housing, ICBC, Hydro

Premier John Horgan appoints new chairs for B.C. Housing, ICBC, Hydro

Premier John Horgan has appointed new chairs for ICBC, B.C. Hydro and B.C. Housing.

Former deputy premier Joy MacPhail has been named the chair of the Insurance Corp. of B.C. MacPhail has served several ministerial roles, including finance minister and health minister. Cathy McLay, chief financial officer and executive vice-president of TransLink, was appointed the director of ICBC.

According to a news release from the premier’s office, the four appointments are aimed at delivering the government’s commitments to offer relief for families on hydro rates, auto insurance costs and housing affordability.

Cassie Doyle, who has previously served as deputy minister with both the federal and provincial governments, is the new chair of the B.C. Housing Management Commission. The commission develops, manages and administers subsidized housing in the province.

Kenneth Peterson, former CEO of Hydro subsidiary Powerex Corp. has been named the new chairman of B.C. Hydro. He replaces Brad Bennett, who was part of former premier Christy Clark’s re-election campaign.

Horgan said all four appointees were chosen for their strong track records of delivering effective leadership that would benefit the public.

“Each of them will face significant challenges because of the choices made by the previous government. All will play a key role in making life more affordable for British Columbians. They will work hard to ensure the organizations they are responsible for are well managed, properly governed and well-aligned with the government’s mandate, and I know they are ready to get to work building a better B.C. for everyone,” Horgan said in a statement.

Alexa HuffmanAlexa Huffman

Recent Stories

Send us your news tips and videos!