BC Transit offering free rides in some Vancouver Island communities on municipal election day

BC Transit offering free rides in some Vancouver Island communities on municipal election day

BC Transit has partnered with local governments to offer residents in select communities across the province, including on Vancouver Island, free transit on municipal election day. 

On the Island, transit-goers in the Victoria, Cowichan Valley, Nanaimo, Port Alberni, and Comox Valley transit systems will be able to take the bus at no charge this Saturday, Oct. 15.

However, those using the 44 Cowichan Valley Connector and 70 Nanaimo Cowichan Express will still have to pay to take this bus, according to BC Transit in a news release.

The company says offering free transit helps make it easier for residents to get to the polls and cast their ballots, and notes that local governments in each community make decisions to offer free rides.

BC Transit is encouraging people to take advantage of free rides this Saturday in the following communities:

  • Chilliwack (includes handyDART)
  • Comox Valley (includes handyDART)
  • Cowichan Valley – Local service only. This does not include the 44 Cowichan Valley Connector or 70 Nanaimo Cowichan Express (includes handyDART)
  • Cranbrook – (includes handyDART)
  • Fort St. John (includes handyDART)
  • Hazelton
  • Kamloops (includes handyDART)
  • Kelowna – Transit is only free within the City of Kelowna and passengers must inform the operator they are travelling to a polling station. (includes handyDART)
  • Kitimat (includes handyDART)
  • Merritt
  • Nanaimo (Regional District of Nanaimo) – this does not include service on the 70 Nanaimo-Cowichan Express (includes handyDART)
  • Port Alberni
  • Powell River and qathet Regional District (includes handyDART)
  • Prince George (includes handyDART)
  • Prince Rupert (includes handyDART)
  • Quesnel (includes handyDART)
  • Revelstoke (includes handyDART)
  • Salt Spring Island
  • Skeena Regional (includes handyDART)
  • Smithers – includes all routes and curb-to-curb service
  • South Okanagan-Similkameen – there is no Saturday service for Princeton
  • Squamish (includes handyDART)
  • Victoria (includes handyDART)
  • West Kootenay Region – Nelson, Castlegar, Trail and area (includes handyDART)
  • Whistler
  • Williams Lake (includes handyDART)

Find information about individual transit systems online.


Recent Stories

Send us your news tips and videos!