11 seek councillor seats in Ladysmith, mayor acclaimed

Town of Ladysmith/Facebook

There are 11 people seeking a seat as a Ladysmith councillor, while the mayor has been acclaimed to the role.

Aaron Stone is one of 11 mayors on Vancouver Island that were acclaimed to their roles.

Five councillors are seeking re-election, and there are six people challenging the seats.

In addition to voting for councillors, trustees in the Nanaimo-Ladysmith School District are up for election.

A referendum question on establishing a new funding model for nine regionally significant recreation facilities will also be included on the ballot. Learn more about the referendum question here.

There will be two advance voting days on Oct. 5 and 12. For these days voting will take place at City Hall from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

On general election day, Oct. 15, voting will take place at the Frank Jameson Community Centre from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Additionally, voters can request to vote by mail.

There are six councillor seats up for election.

Councillors seeking re-election are Amanda Jacobson, Tricia McKay, Duck Paterson, Marsh Stevens, and Jeff Virtanen.

Alice Clark, Ray Gourlay, Doug Johnson, Kim Nakahara, Rhonda Shirley, and Lyle Tassone are seeking to be elected.

In 2018, 2,076 people voted for a voter turnout of 31.2 per cent.

Laura Brougham

Recent Stories

Send us your news tips and videos!