Victoria crew becomes first all-Canadian team to win Race to Alaska

Race to Alaska/Facebook
Team Malolo is the first all-Canadian team to win the Race to Alaska.

A four-person crew from Victoria is the first all-Canadian team to win Race to Alaska.

Team Malolo was one of 44 teams in the Race to Alaska. The first leg of the race, from Port Townsend, Washington to Victoria, B.C., saw six teams eliminated for not starting or not finishing.

The second leg of the race, from Victoria to Ketchikan, Alaska, started on June 12 at noon.

Five days later on June 17 at 2:36 p.m. Alaska time, Team Malolo was the first to cross the finish line.

Watch the team cross the finish line, starting at 4:15, below:

Team Malolo was made up of Duncan Gladman, Paul Gibson, Becky Kelly and Matthew Macatee from Victoria.

They sailed on a Custom-built Cochrane Design boat propelled by pedal.

This was the team’s third attempt at the race.

The Race to Alaska is North America’s longest human and wind powered race. The winners receive $10,000 and second place wins a set of steak knives. Any boat without an engine is eligible to enter.

Laura Brougham

Recent Stories

Send us your news tips and videos!