2 seek mayor’s seat and 8 run for councillor position in Port Hardy

2 seek mayor's seat and 8 run for councillor position in Port Hardy
District of Port Hardy/Facebook

Port Hardy voters will choose between two candidates for mayor and eight for councillor in the upcoming election.

The current mayor is seeking to be elected as a councillor, and one current councillor is not seeking re-election. There are four councillors up for re-election.

The electoral area for Port Hardy in the Vancouver Island North School District have been acclaimed.

Advance voting will take place on Oct. 5 at 7630 Columbia Street from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. The location for general voting day has not yet been announced. It will be announced on Port Hardy’s website.

Pat Corbett-Labatt is a current councillor seeking election as the mayor, and Athena Guy is also seeking the seat.

There are six councillor positions up for election.

Incumbent councillors seeking re-election are Janet Dorward, Fred Robertson, Treena Smith, and John Tidbury.

Dennis Dugas, the current mayor, is also seeking to be elected as councillor.

Jamie Keamo, Marilynn Salski, and Brian Texmo are seeking a councillor position.

In 2018, 1,147 people voted in Port Hardy for a voter turnout of 37.2 per cent.

Laura BroughamLaura Brougham

Recent Stories

Send us your news tips and videos!